Judging the Jubilee Bake Off

Some of the 80 cakes I had to judge.

My job has many perks. One of these is being invited to a school to judge their Jubilee Bake Off. On a rainy afternoon I headed to a small Leicestershire primary school wearing an outfit I knew wouldn’t restrict my cake eating ability. As a Clandestine Cake Club member I know my cake eating limits and looked forward to seeing what all the pupils, teachers and parents had produced. What I hadn’t expected was 80, yes 80 entrants to the competition. Very impressive for a school with only 140 pupils.

The school’s Jubilee celebration was 1950s themed and all the staff and pupils looked fabulous in fancy dress. The cakes were sorted in to 7 categories. Five age/class groups plus one for teachers and another for parents. Along with fellow judge Bethan we decided to taste test the top 5 cakes in each category and these top cakes we’re judged on taste, quality of cake and if they had been decorated by a child (in the class category). It was hard work deciding on the winners but it was great to see that the winning cakes were all very different.

Winners:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

One of my favourite entries was the winning teacher cakes – Earl Grey cupcakes. The flavours were perfectly balanced and the buttercream fluffy and not too sweet. I will certainly be trying this flavour in my cakes soon.

A big thank you to everyone who took entered a cake along with Sir John Moore school for inviting me to take part in their Diamond Jubilee celebrations.

About Julie @ Apple & Thyme

A Derbyshire/Staffordshire based business that provides creative food education with the aim of making good food and cookery skills accessible for all.

Posted on June 1, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

