The Clandestine Cake Club Cookbook is here!

ccc cookbook

Ever since Clandestine Cake Club (CCC) was formed by Lynn Hill in 2010 I’ve been a fan. The mission statements is – Bake, eat and talk about cake. Who can argue with that? There are two simple rules for CCC:

  • No cupcakes, muffins, brownies, pies or tart. It’s all about cake
  • You get to take cake home

I’ve been attending both Derby & Loughborough Cake Club for the last few years and have enjoyed meeting up with like minded people and getting the chance to make cakes I usually wouldn’t get to make at home. Nearly a year ago Lynn sent an email to members saying a Clandestine Cake Club Cookbook was going to be published and asked us to submit recipes.

Derby CCC cookbook

I decided to submit a variant of the cake I made for the first CCC event I attended in Derby. The theme for the event was “Trick or Treat” so  I gave a black forest gateau a slightly macarbe twist by adorning it with beetles, lots of marzipan beetles. Unsurprisingly this version was probably a bit too twisted for the book so it was turned in to a Wild Forest Gateau instead.

A copy of the Clandestine Cake Club Cookbook landed on my desk last week and, ok I may be biased, but I love it. The layout and styling makes you want to make every cake in the book. It’s full of great recipes some of which a bit different from the norm. I will certainly be using the book in the future to find celebration cakes. It would be a fabulous gift for anyone who loves baking. So pick up yourself a copy and see if you can spot me and other fabulous CCC members in it. Tune in to BBC Radio Derby on Monday 28th January at 11am to hear me chat with Sally Pepper about the UK’s love of cookbooks.

wild forest gateau

The Clandestine Cake Club Cookbook (RRP £20) is available from 14th February

About Julie @ Apple & Thyme

A Derbyshire/Staffordshire based business that provides creative food education with the aim of making good food and cookery skills accessible for all.

Posted on January 23, 2013, in News and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

